Approximately 70% of global CO2 emissions originate from urban areas, a staggering figure that is set to increase as an estimated 3 billion people shift from rural to urban areas by 2050. Cities need to transition to low-emission, climate-resilient infrastructure, and finance is key to implementing this transition. While the world needs to invest roughly US $93 trillion towards sustainable infrastructure over the next 15 years, current urban infrastructure spend is only US $2.5-3 trillion per year.

This webinar on Wednesday, August 5 at 9am ET / 2pm BST / 3pm CEST / 8pm ICT will focus on a think piece commissioned by FELICITY-GIZ, and developed in collaboration with the Cities Climate Finance Leadership Alliance, that focuses specifically on enhancing the role that National Development Banks (NDBs) play in supporting the acceleration of climate-smart urban infrastructure investment.

With more than USD 5 trillion in assets and several comparative advantages relative to other financiers, NDBs are well-positioned to lead this shift. However, maximizing their potential will require strengthening the enabling environments of urban institutions, as well as, making some strategic adjustments at the NDB institutional and financing levels.

Confirmed speakers include Boitumelo Mosako, Chief Financial Officer at Development Bank of Southern Africa; Edgar Salinas,  Executive Principal, Environment and Climate Change Division at Development Bank of Latin America – CAF; and Ana Jayme, Advisor on Public Investment and Financing,  Institute of Research and Urban Planning of Curitiba, City of Curitiba, Brazil.

This webinar will:

  • Provide an introduction to the key findings and recommendations covered within the think piece.
  • Facilitate a discussion on challenges and opportunities facing NDBs, cities, and the private sector for financing climate-resilient, low carbon urban infrastructure.
  • Explore opportunities for deeper engagement between NDBs, national governments, local authorities, and other key stakeholders closing the investment gap in cities climate finance.

Register for the webinar here

up