ACW2021_Banner-1024x345

Financing Africa’s Urban Opportunity

  • Duration: 90 min
  • Time: 18:00 EAT / 16:00 BST /11:00 EST
  • Platform: Zoom

Africa’s future will depend on the success of its cities.  With an astounding increase in the continent’s urban population and the fastest urban growth rate in the world, the continent is expected to see a two and half fold increase in its urban population in the next 40 years.

Africa’s urban challenges are complex. Cities need tailored, endogenous solutions which work for their residents. It also means that the scale of projected investments to drive compact, connected and clean urban development is varied and depends on country-specific characteristics, as are the challenges of financing these investments.

Idan Sasson will participate in this side event, hosted by The Coalition for Urban Transitions, which will focus on the financing gaps for city climate action, emphasising the great investment opportunities African cities provide. It will bring together national and sub-national government decisionmakers, high-profile climate and civil society leaders, and private sector representatives to explore and identify ways to implement the recommendations outlined in the report. The session will also consider how these three groups can effectively coordinate to support and finance low-carbon and inclusive cities, while building capacity for such a transformation at the local level.

Learn more.


up

Sign-up to Receive Research and News Alerts from Climate Policy Initiative

Cookie use: We use cookies to personalize content by preferred language and to analyze our traffic. Please refer to our privacy policy for more information.